Հայ |  Рус |  Eng

Information - Energy Charter

Energy Charter

Energy Charter was established in 1991 by the Hague Declaration (Political declaration signed in Hague). There are 51 member countries.  The Headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium. The Republic of Armenia signed the Energy Charter Treaty in 1994.

The fundamental aim of the Energy Charter Treaty is to define and strengthen the unified legal framework and rules of law on energy issues, which must be maintained by the member countries and which will let to reduce the risks connected/associated with the investments in energy sector, as well as trade and transit issues for free access and availability to the third country.

The Energy Charter annual Conference is the decision-making body. The ongoing activities of the Energy Charter coordinate the Energy Charter Secretary General.

The Working Groups of the Energy Charter Secretariat are: Strategy Group, Trade and Transit Group, Investment Group, Energy Efficiency Group.


The official website: